Difficulty following directions

Standard

OK…so some might think that this post is going to be about one (or both) of my children. It’s not.

I found a new lasagna recipe today. Actually, I should be careful about how I say that. Yes, it is a new recipe to me, but it’s not like I have some tried and true recipe that I always use to make lasagna. Truth be told, I haven’t made lasagna in years…unless it came out of a box in the freezer.

I chose this recipe in particular because my son loves lasagna, but he hates meat in his lasagna. So, here I have the recipe for “Easy Meatless Lasagna” that I found at BettyCrocker.com. Given the source, I really thought this recipe would be easy to follow. But apparently, Betty doesn’t write her online recipes quite the same way as she writes her cookbook recipes.

According to the recipe, this lasagna has just 3 steps. I can see how, in a broad sense, that is true. (1) Preheat oven and prepare cheese mixture. (2) Place various layers of sauce and cheese and noodles in pan. (3) Bake. Easy peasy, right? Nope. Not when step 2 reads as follows:

Spread 2 cups of the pasta sauce in ungreased rectangular pan, 13x9x2 inches; top with 4 uncooked noodles. Spread ricotta cheese mixture over noodles. Spread with 2 cups pasta sauce and top with 4 noodles; repeat with 2 cups pasta sauce and 4 noodles. Sprinkle with 2 cups mozzarella cheese. Spread with remaining pasta sauce. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese.

Seriously…that should not be all one step!! The first time I read this, I knew there was a chance that I’d mess it up. After each layer, I checked and double checked. Somewhere in the middle though, I thought I had it down and I stopped checking. I got to the end of my 2nd jar of sauce and it was still telling me to add sauce. So then I repeated my layers back in my head and realized that the mozzarella cheese is in the wrong place too. Then, I started doubting the whole thing. The only thing I know for sure is that I got the bottom 3 layers right. After that it’s all a big blur.

So…my sad attempt at lasagna is in the oven now, and I have no clue how badly I messed it up.

Leave a comment