They smell fear

Standard

Seriously, my kids smell fear…my fear.

When my husband is out of town, the children always seem to get the best of me. There’s 2 of them and only 1 of me. Without backup coming home in the evening, they outnumber me sun up to sun down. After a few days without my husband, I’m usually spent. By the time he returns, they’ve worn me down and I feel like I’m not in control. (If you know me, you’ll know that loss of control is a MAJOR issue.) I feel like they don’t take me seriously, like they don’t respect my authority.

So, my husband is traveling for business this week. He’s only been gone since this afternoon and the children have already messed with me. Either they’re just getting smart about this, or they sense my fear. They were total boogers on our way home from our normal Tuesday activities. They were breaking rules right and left. I’d say “stop doing that”, and they’d just find a way to modify it so that they could say they weren’t doing the same thing anymore. I know, some of that is just their age, but there’s only so much of it I can take in one night.

These are going to be 3 very long days.

Leave a Reply

