Pirate Mayhem

Standard

Last week at this time, I was feeling completely overwhelmed with planning Tommy’s birthday party.  I had my sights set on bounce house in the backyard for the kids and a beer in my hand.  In between where I was and where I wanted to be, there stood a ton of cleaning.  I really had no intention of doing much of anything with the pirate theme that Tommy chose for his party, other than to pass out pirate goodies and include gold coins with the candy in the pinata.

Now that I’ve been able to get some of that cleaning out of the way, things really feel like they’re moving.  On Sunday, my sister asked me if I was doing anything with the pirate theme besides hiding the treasure chest (pinata) in the backyard.  At that point…nope.  Later that evening, I started to feel a bit guilty so I started searching for pirate party ideas.  Now, I have more ideas than I know what to do with, and am trying to figure out just how many of them I’m actually going to use.

I hope the kiddos come prepared for all sorts of pirate mayhem, cuz they sure are going to get some.  There will be eye patches, inflatable swords and tattoos.  They will have to walk the plank.  Hopefully they’ll get to play a rousing game of sink the enemy too.  In the meantime, they’ll be snacking on pirate peg legs, fish and cannonballs.  They’ll wash it all down with a splash of sharks blood punch.  I’m even thinking about making some Jell-o ocean blue.   They’ll have to complete a treasure hunt in order to find the pinata.  (And yes, there will be the bounce house too!)  I am on a roll, and perhaps I should be stopped. 

Sure, there’s still quite a bit of cleaning to do, and errands to run, but I feel much more optimistic about it this week than I did last week.  I’m sure that by Friday evening I’m going to be in an overdrive so high that I won’t be able to sleep.  Hopefully everything will go smoothly.  And the neighbors, they’d better just settle in for a long evening.  For all those nights when the boys behind us played night baseball games under a flood light…this is pirate revenge.

Arrrgh!  Walk the plank!

Leave a Reply

