It’s that time again

Standard

It’s that time of year again. It’s the time when I find myself writing lists and marking up calendars more furiously than the rest of the year. Believe me…I am a listing fool, year round. Around the holidays there’s usually a spike in my number of active lists, but for obvious reasons. From the end of June and into July though…is like no other time.  This year I thought it would be a little less noticeable. After all, I have a really cool planner that I carry with me now. And I’ve been working harder since February to stay on top of things. Well…I thought wrong.

The past couple of weeks have been busy, and there are many things scheduled for the next 4 weeks. Doctors appointments, birthday parties, trip to Grandma and Grandpa’s house, Tommy’s evaluation. There are many more that still need to be scheduled. More doctors appointments, playdates, and heaven only knows what else. Things appear on my To Do list just as fast, if not faster than I can cross them off.

Towards the end of last week, we settled on a date and a plan for Tommy’s birthday party.  He has chosen a pirate theme.  We’ll be renting a bounce house for the backyard.  We’ve invited his pirate mateys and their families to come for the party and stay for dinner.  I’ve been meaning to schedule a get together with several families for a while now, so this takes care of that too.  Invites have been sent, so now it’s time to prepare.  Not only do I have to clean up the house and make all the party arrangements, but we also have to finish the household projects that are currently ongoing. 

Over the weekend, we painted Tommy’s bed, reassembled it and finished moving him in to his new room. (pics to come soon!)  We were able to get some of the “playroom” stuff out of the hallway and into the new playroom.  But, there are still more tools in the playroom than there are toys.  I played librarian and reshelved ~4 dozen stray books that were found strewn about the upstairs.  Sounds like we’re moving right along…but we’re not.  Yesterday I wrote lists for all the things that need to get done.  There’s the party planning list…buy pinata, order cake, plan food, etc.  Then, there’s the list of stuff to do around the house…way too long!  Add to these the list of gift ideas and the list of ordinary, mundane tasks that are hanging out there, and I’m being listed to death.  Three large yellow post-it notes cover all the days of my weekly calendar view and are accompanied by a list straight down the side of the page in the area designated for listing.

I know I just said the other day that I shouldn’t sweat the small stuff.  Right now though, I feel like I’m beyond sweating.  I feel as though I’m being defeated by the little things!

oh yeah…did I mention…the party is in just over a week?!

Leave a Reply

