Moving right along

Standard

Things have been fairly smooth and steady around our house lately.  Each day, I have been thinking about my goals.  I am finding that this is leaving me a little more calm.  I have direction now that I didn’t have before.  With that direction in mind, I am better able to realize that the bumps we encounter in the road and the detours we take are just that.  They are not the end of the world.  They are not a complete derailment.  This is good. 

That being said, last week was a fairly busy week.  Things just happened.  We hit several bumps in the road.  Wendesday the garage door went kaput.  The tired old thing just didn’t want to open.  Thankfully Aaron was able to get someone out to look at it on Thursday over his lunch.  $400 later, we have a new garage door opener.  Meanwhile, I was returning from my lunch when I got a phone call.  Anna was burning up with a fever, so I was off to daycare to pick her up.  Friday morning, I attended the funeral of a friend’s mother.  Then I spent the afternoon nursing Anna back to good health.  Satruday brought a bit of a break.  Anna was well enough to go to a birthday party in the afternoon and then we all turned around for an impromptu get together with some of my husbands co-workers.  I must admit, I had serious doubts about this shindig.  It wasn’t clear to me how many children would be present.  Without other children, the kids would’ve been terribly bored and I would have heard about it.  Thankfully, we arrived to find that there were a total of 11 children there, ranging in age from 4 months to about 12 years.  Yay!  When we left 4 hours later, I was stunned.  Both of our children were well behaved all evening.  Unfortunately, we paid dearly for that on Sunday, as it appeared that their good behavior had run out and their unruly behavior was being fueled by lack of sleep.

This week, things have been fairly normal.  No surprises.  That’s exactly the change of pace we needed this week.

I must admit that I am worried today.  Tommy hasn’t had any huge behavior issues lately at school.  There was an incident 2 weeks ago in art class, but that wasn’t huge.  He didn’t get to do the project that day, but because he apologized and corrected his bad behavior after the 2nd warning, he did not miss out completely.  Today is the day he will get to make up that art project.  So why am I worried?  He’s been struggling with keeping his hands off of other people’s property.  3 of the last 5 school days he has been moved to yellow for this.  I’m worried that today he might go too far, perhaps while in art class, and end up losing his 2nd chance for that project.  I really don’t want to see that happen.  We talked this morning about being on our best behavior today and making good choices.  Now it is up to Tommy to make it happen.  We shall see.

Leave a Reply

