The Verdict

Standard

I have been fairly quiet about things with Tommy for the past couple of weeks.  Last Tuesday he had his first OT session since the evaluation.  It was at this session that I received the much anticipated report from the evaluation.  There was more information in the report than I was prepared to digest while sitting in on his session.  I think I “read” it 3 times, but it wasn’t until I was at home and on the phone with my mom that I found the section that I was most interested in.  Anyone who has been to an OT session with a sensory seeking child will likely understand why it was difficult to take in the contents of the report.  All I have to say is WOW!  (but that’s a whole separate story!)

Back to the issue at hand…the report.  What a tremendous amount of information about my son…in 5 pages!  Every observation made by the OT and the “results” from the questionnaire I filled out, followed by what they’ve labeled as the “Impairments”, “Functional Limitations” and goals for his therapy.  I’m very impressed with the goals that they have outlined for him…they’re very specific and detailed.  I can’t wait to see how this helps him.

So, what are we dealing with?  1) Sensory processing and modulation deficits.  2) Fine motor coordination and scissor grasp.  3) Bilateral coordination.  We didn’t see #3 coming, but with the observations she made, it makes complete sense.  Tommy moves fast, so we’ve always been able to blame his clumsiness on the fact that he moves so quickly.  But, we never stopped to think about what happens when we make him slow down.  That’s when you start to see it.

They’re recommending 6 months of OT for starters.  The goals address his difficulty focusing, difficulty with transitions, and his sensory seeking movements that inerfere with his daily life activities, as well as his coordination issues.  We will reassess at the end of the 6 months to see how well he’s doing with the goals.

Leave a Reply

