Freezer Cleanout: Week 3

Standard

Yes, I know I didn’t write about freezer cleanout week 2. Just take my word for it that we did cook something from the freezer that week, but it just wasn’t worth writing about.

This week’s cleanout night featured frozen Mahi Mahi filets. The prep I used for the Mahi Mahi can be used on a wide variety of fish. So far, I’ve only used it on Mahi Mahi and on Sole. What I do is my own version of blackened fish, first introduced to me on our family’s spring vacation to South Carolina. (Some of the best blackened Mahi Mahi that I’ll probably ever have!!)

In a small bowl, combine paprika, red pepper, black pepper, salt and garlic powder.  You’ll have to play around with the ratios of these ingredients depending on how spicy you like your fish.  Typically, my mixture is largely paprika, salt and pepper, with just a pinch of red pepper.  Mix these ingredients thoroughly.  Lightly coat thawed fish in olive oil.  Sprinkle spice mixture generously over both sides of the fish.  Cook fish in pan with olive oil over medium heat.  The cook time will vary depending on the type of fish and the size of your pieces.  One thing I’ve learned is that its best to only flip the fish once.  Most fish gets more delicate when cooked, and multiple flips makes for a big crumbly mess.  (I see this much more with the Sole than with the Mahi Mahi.)

So, I am by no means an expert at cooking fish.  But, I have certainly eliminated the bland fish blues in our house.

Leave a Reply

