It’s going to be one of those weeks.

Standard

It’s going to be one of those weeks…I can just tell.  A few short weeks ago, I was motivated to change the way things flow in our house.  In particular, the weeknight menu.  I preached to the children about how they would be expected to try the new recipes I would be preparing.  (with the trade-off being that I would promise to make at least one kid-friendly meal a week.)  We were also going to work on cleaning out the freezer.  The first week went really well, with the kids actually enjoying one of the new meals.  Since then though, things have been a bit sluggish.  And this week, I can just see things grinding to a halt.

I haven’t done a major grocery shopping trip for 2 weeks now.  Last week, I threw together a short list and managed to pick up some of the dinner foods and a few staple items.  This week, I haven’t even gotten that far.  I sent my husband to pick up yogurt and waffles after church on Sunday, but that’s about it.  Sure, I have the whole freezer full of this month’s Market Day order that I picked up on Saturday, but that was supposed to be for the whole month.

Truth be told…last night’s dinner was a joke.  The kids started eating when we got home.  It was a trail of food, with a little 1st grade homework plopped in the middle.  I think Tommy ate yogurt and an apple, a stick of cheese, a bagel with cream cheese, and a couple of what he calls “crickets on a log.”   (Celery sticks with peanut butter, topped with more peanuts.)  Anna had yogurt and her own version of “logs” with what she refers to as “walnarts.”  (Known to most as walnuts.)   Sure…its all pretty good food and certainly carries plenty of protein, but it just carried on and on.  I enjoyed a snack of peanut butter on a spoon to hold me over until hubby brought home Mexican carry-out.  Hardly my vision of weeknight family dinner.

We may not be off to a good start, but I’m going to try to fight it.  Tonight, there will be a reasonable dinner on the table.  Even if the kids still end up eating the crazy mix of food again, I want it to at least all arrive on one plate.  There will be real food prepared and consumed by hubby and myself…perhaps that tasty Mahi Mahi from the freezer.  And, if I’m lucky, I’ll even get the dishwasher loaded.

Leave a Reply

