Freezer cleanout: Week 1

Standard

I don’t know how it is in your house, but for us, the freezer is pretty much a graveyard.  The only thing that seems to escape the freezer readily are waffles and ice cream bars.  Used to be that our children would eat a lot of chicken nuggets.  They still do, but it seems to happen more often when we eat out, and not at home anymore.  Over the weekend, my daughter made a request for chicken nuggets, which had my husband digging to the depths of the freezer to see if we even had any.  In the process, he stumbled upon many things still worth rescuing from the freezer graveyard.  See…we’ve only had this fridge since last Christmas, so very little has actually perished in this particular freezer.

Along with the new menus that I’ve been trying to get off the ground (the ones that strongly encourage my children to try new foods regularly.), we are now launching Project Freezer Cleanout.  At least once a week, I’m going to try to make something that utilizes a minimum of one ingredient pulled from the depths of the freezer.  This week’s meal is not too much of a stretch though, I must admit.  The ingredient for this week is sea scallops.

Sea scallops are one of my favorite seafoods.  I have learned over the last year or so that scallops are not all that difficult to prepare, and they are fabulous when cooked well.  Too often, people overcook scallops, rendering them chewy and unappetizing.  For my scallops, I like to keep things simple.  The scallops we’ve been buying are some of the largest I’ve seen…about 1.5-2″ in diameter and about 1″ thick.  The cook best if they are allowed to reach room temperature before cooking.  If the centers are still cold, they don’t cook evenly and you’ll likely end up with overcooked outsides by the time the centers are cooked.  I heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil in a large skillet over high heat.  When the oil and pan are hot, I add the scallops and cook 2-2.5 minutes.  Then, I flip the scallops and cook another 2-2.5 minutes on the other side.  You’ll know they’re fully cooked when they become opaque inside.  Pair the scallops with some steamed or grilled vegetables or with the rice or pasta side of your choice.  This week, we enjoyed ours along with some Market Day fried rice…also from the freezer. 😉

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s going to be one of those weeks. « SapphireLizard

Leave a Reply

